Interesting piece today on the Guardian’s Higher Education Network blog about using the personal pronoun in academic writing.

It’s true – the convention in academic writing is never to use ‘I’, and it’s how I always wrote my essays when I was a student. The complicated sentence structure used when trying to get round using the personal pronoun is probably why academic writing can sound so stuffy.

Recently, I’ve found writing pieces for my Foundations of Counselling course most illuminating. The subject matter demands that I talk about my personal experience, but I’ve found it much harder to write these bits than writing about what other people say – “author x says this, whereas author y adds…” etc.

What with academic writing and business copywriting my two strengths, I rarely actually write what I think!

