Before my train home from London this morning, I popped into the British Library (I love that place – such a civilised haven of peace) and had a quick look round their current exhibition Out of this World.

It’s another British Library free exhibition I highly recommend (see my post on Evolving English). I must start booking later trains so I can spend more time there…

The exhibition focuses on sci fi literature throughout the ages, looking at representations of alien life forms, futuristic imaginings, that sort of thing. It’s not just books, though there are some brilliant ones from their collection, but also video, a robot who quoted prose and a tardis. One book from the seventies called 2010 imagined libraries that had big networked screens where you could access everything that’s ever been written.

Ace. It’s on until late September.

