This weekend I came across some interviews with writers about writing.

I rarely read interviews with writers or want to listen to them talk. I reason that they’re writers, and their work should speak for itself; their skill surely lies in writing not talking. But the modern industry demands it, according to Michael Holroyd: “you have to go out and blow the trumpet…it isn’t the word that speaks: you have to perform the word a bit, you have to demonstrate it, you have to appear, you have to be the book.”

So writers are essentially expected to be entertainers too.

On another theme, Hilary Mantel says: “I wanted to write this book because it didn’t exist already.”

Does all creativity stem from necessity and boredom? I certainly make things (clothes, bags, stuff) because I know exactly what I want, but it doesn’t seem to exist and making it will give me something to do!

